Languages of love

Today's blog post is one that I could easily expand upon for days if not weeks at a time. The languages of love. I will relate this to music as the blog unfolds.

Did you know that each of us displays our love languages differently? Or maybe you didn't even know that you had love languages.

Gentle Haven Music, Web Design, Love Language

Renowned psychologist Dr. Gary Chapman wrote a book titled: 'The Five Languages of Love' back in 1995.

His book is a discussion of marriage, emotional love, and how spouses can recognize each other's love languages and then fulfill them. Each individual typically has one trait that is strongest and another that comes second while the other three may be more latent.

I believe though and so do others that these five languages can be demonstrated to others who are not our spouses or even friends or relatives.

The five languages of love for spouses are:

1. Words of Affirmation

2. Quality Time

3. Receiving Gifts

4. Acts of Service

5. Physical Touch

I highly encourage you, the reader, to look at Dr. Chapman's book to get a better idea of how to love your spouse more fully. It will also help to understand how emotional love is shared and nurtured.

For those who aren't married, I would like to expound on these points a little more and encourage you to recognize love languages from those you know best. You don't have to be married, engaged or even in a relationship with someone to see these traits in someone's life. You can even see them in your own life.

A little caveat before I begin: Physical touch can be a problematic issue for many people so one needs to be very aware of other's personal space and never invade it. Respect and dignity for others is essential!

We all need words of affirmation. Everyday we're bombarded with negative messages, thoughts, and words that are sometimes just overwhelming.

Have you ever seen someone on the side of the road dejectedly walking? It's heartbreaking. We can though, with our words affirm and encourage others.